York Rite College

Camp Floyd College # 190

Current Officers of Camp Floyd College

Governor – Treavor J. Wilkinson
Deputy Governor – Reed Fanning
Chancellor – Dave Hutchinson
Secretary – Matthew Benavidez
Treasurer – Blake Hansen
Primate – Dan Hamilton
Preceptor – William McCraw
Seneschal – Danny A. Drew
Marshall – Dave Newsom
Sentinel – Brandon Cole

About the York Rite Sovereign College

The York Rite Sovereign College of North America exists
primarily to be of service to the York Rite of Freemasonry.
The pre-requisite for membership, which is by invitation only,
is good-standing in all four York Rite bodies:
Lodge, Chapter, Council and Commandery.

Origin of the College

The York Rite Sovereign College of North America came into being in the City of Detroit, Michigan on January 6, 1957. It was the result of a meeting called by Richard W. Lewis, Past Grand High Priest of the Grand Chapter of Royal Arch Masons of Michigan, and attended by the heads of the four Michigan York Rite grand Bodies and a number of distinguished Masonic leaders from other States. These founders, responding to a need which had long been recognized in the York Rite, outlined the structure and purpose of the new organization and arranged for its incorporation.

Purpose of the York Rite Sovereign College

The purpose of the York Rite Sovereign College of North America, as set forth in its Constitution and By-Laws, are as follows:

  • To foster a spirit of cooperation and coordination among each of the Bodies of York Rite Masonry.
  • To assist in worthy efforts to improve the ritualistic and dramatic presentation of York Rite work.
  • To conduct an education program in order to inculcate a greater appreciation of the principles, ideals and programs of York Rite Masonry.
  • To strengthen York Rite Masonry in every possible manner.
  • To build up a love of country and to aid and support genuine Americanism.
  • To reward outstanding service to York Rite Masonry by awards, honors and other methods of proper recognition.
  • To support Charitable and Benevolent Endeavors of Freemasonry.

Membership Requirements

​​Membership in a College is by invitation, and is restricted to those who hold membership in all of the other York Rite bodies. Since the primary object of every College is to foster a spirit of service and to promote and support the York Rite in every way possible, it is no surprise to find many of the leaders of the Craft numbered among its ranks. Here they find a common ground from which the can act for the welfare of all York Rite bodies without special favor to any. Colleges have been active in the organization of York Rite Festivals, degree teams, drill corps, and many other functions which serve to assist, coordinate, and unify the Rite.

Orders Conferred By The York Rite Sovereign College

The order of the Knight of York is conferred by the College and is tells the story of the legend of York where the Masons of York were granted a charter by King Athelstane in the year 925 AD. It takes its ritual from the Regius Manuscript which is Freemasonry’s oldest surviving document.

Awards Given By The York Rite Sovereign College

The York Rite Sovereign College of North America is the supreme governing body for all Colleges within its jurisdiction. As such, it endeavors to promote all those activities which favor the accomplishing of its stated purpose. Among these is the awarding of certain honors for outstanding service.

The Gold Honor Award may be given to any Mason for unselfish and faithful service in any branch of the York Rite. The recipient need not to be a member of a College, nor is it required that he be a member of all the other York Rite bodies.

The Order of the Purple Cross of York, the highest honor of the College, is conferred upon those members of the College who have distinguished themselves by their service to humanity or to the Rite. The recipients are designated Associate Regents of the Sovereign College and from their ranks are chosen the Regents or active members of that body.

2020 – Current – Jay N. Mitchell
2016 – 2020 – P. Marty Martineau
2012 – 2016 – Dean D. Rein
2010 – 2012 – Michael D. Shipler
2006 – 2010 – Blaine H. Simons
2002 – 2005 – Patrick F. Bailey

2024 – Treavor J. Wilkinson
2023 – Jeffrey E. Hamilton
2022 – O. Blake Hansen
2021 – Monte K. Anderson
2020 – Charles E. Warren
2019 – Douglas J. Backes
2018 – Dennis R. Hauze
2017 – Jason Mitchell
2016 – Jason C. Varner
2015 – Robert M. Bennett
2014 – P. Marty Martineau
2013 – Marion T. McWilliams
2012 – Loren H. Rausher
2011 – Brian Hastings
2010 – Dean D. Rein
2009 – William A. Butterfield
2008 – Jay N. Mitchell
2007 – William J. Westbrook
2006 – Michael D. Shipler
2005 – Michael D. Shipler
2004 – Thomas H. Eastwood
2003 – Owen C. Orton
2002 – Delbert F. Hansen
2001 – Patrick F. Bailey