About Chivalric Masonry

Grand Commandery

      The Knights Templar is unique because it is the only place in the York Rite system that the candidate is required to take a “Christian” oath. The oath does not require one to be a Christian, only to be willing to defend the Christian faith above all others, so many non-Christians have been welcomed into this rite
as well.

      The ceremonies of the Knights Templar are conferred in Orders rather than degrees. There are three Orders of Knighthood which are conferred in a Commandery of Knights Templar:​

  • Illustrious Order of the Red Cross
  • Order of the Knights of Malta
  • Order of the Temple

      The Order derives its name from the historical Knights Templar. One theory of the origins of Freemasonry claims direct descent from the historical Knights Templar through its final fourteenth-century members who took refuge in Scotland, or other countries where the Templar suppression was not enforced. Although the theory may not be dismissed, it is usually deprecated on grounds of lack of evidence by both masonic authorities and historians.

Current Grand Commandery Officers

Find a local Commandery


By-Laws of the Grand Commandery of Utah

​To learn more, visit the Grand Encampment website by clicking here.

Knights Templar Uniform Regulations

​View the Knights Templar Monthly magazine and Supplements by clicking here.